RBI Governor List of India

RBI Governor List of India: Complete list of all the RBI governors

RBI Governor List of India (RBI), as the central bank of India, has been fortunate to have a roster of distinguished individuals serve as its Governors throughout its history. These Governors have played a pivotal role in shaping India’s monetary policy and financial system, making their contributions invaluable.

Among the notable names on the RBI Governors’ List is Raghuram Rajan, who served as Governor from 2013 to 2016. Rajan’s tenure is particularly noteworthy for his efforts in stabilizing the Indian economy during a period of global economic turbulence. His expertise and decisive actions helped mitigate risks and maintain financial stability.

Another prominent figure on the RBI Governors’ List is Urjit Patel, who served as Governor from 2016 to 2018. Patel’s focus was on strengthening the monetary policy framework and addressing issues related to banking sector reforms. His contributions were instrumental in ensuring the resilience of India’s financial system.

The RBI Governors have played a pivotal role in formulating and implementing monetary policies, regulating the banking sector, and ensuring the stability of the Indian financial system. Their expertise and leadership have been instrumental in shaping India’s economic and financial landscape, making the RBI Governors’ list an illustrious one in the country’s history.

The RBI is the supreme monetary authority in India. It operates as the custodian of the country’s monetary and financial system. The RBI formulates and implements monetary policies to maintain stable prices and control inflation. It manages the exchange rate, regulates the banking sector, and acts as a lender of last resort for financial institutions. The RBI also plays a significant role in promoting financial inclusion, overseeing payment systems, and managing foreign exchange reserves. Its decisions and policies have a profound impact on the Indian economy.

RBI Governor List of India

In the present day, Shaktikanta Das holds the position of RBI Governor. Since assuming office in December 2018, he has steered the central bank through challenging times and made important contributions to the RBI’s mission of maintaining monetary stability and financial regulation. His proactive approach and expertise have been crucial in addressing the evolving economic landscape of India.

RBI Governor List of India: Complete list of all the RBI governors from 1935 to 2023

S.No.Governor NameTenure
1Sir Osborne SmithApril 1, 1935 to June 30, 1937
2Sir James Braid TaylorJuly 1, 1937 to February 17, 1943
3Sir C. D. DeshmukhAugust 11, 1943 to June 30, 1949
4Sir Benegal Rama RauJuly 1, 1949 to 14 January 1957
5K. G. AmbegaonkarJanuary 14, 1957 to 28 February 1957
6H. V. R. IyengarMarch 1, 1957 to February 28, 1962
7P. C. BhattacharyaMarch 1, 1962 to June 30, 1967
8L. K. JhaJuly 1, 1967 to May 3, 1970
9B. N. AdarkarMay 4, 1970 to June 15, 1970
10S. JagannathanJune 16, 1970 to May 19, 1975
11N. C. Sen GuptaMay 19, 1975 to August 19, 1975
12K. R. PuriAugust 20, 1975 to May 2, 1977
13M. NarasimhanMay 3, 1977 to November 30, 1977
14I.G. PatelDecember 1, 1977, to September 15, 1982
15Manmohan SinghSeptember 16, 1982 to January 14, 1985
16Amitav GhoshJanuary 15, 1985, to February 4, 1985
17R. N. MalhotraFebruary 4, 1985, to December 22, 1990
18S. VenkatramanDecember 22, 1990 to December 21, 1992
19C. RangarajanDecember 22, 1992, to November 21, 1997
20Bimal JalanNovember 22, 1997 to September 6, 2003
21Y. V. ReddySeptember 6, 2003, to September 5, 2008
22D. SubbaraoSeptember 5, 2008, to September 4, 2013
23Raghuram RajanSeptember 4, 2013, to September 4, 2016
24Urjit PatelSeptember 4, 2016, to December 11, 2018
25Shashikanta DasDecember 12, 2018, to Present

Also Read: List Of 15 National Symbols of India

Leave a Reply