List of States in India

List Of States in India: Present, Pre-Independence, and Post-Independence

The Indian subcontinent was once divided into various provinces and princely states, each with its unique identity, culture, and history. In the pre-independence era, India was ruled by the British, who divided the country into 17 provinces and 584 princely states. These provinces were important administrative units that were directly governed by the British Crown, while the princely states were ruled by local monarchs who were under the indirect authority of the British government.

These states and provinces played a significant role in shaping India’s political, cultural, and economic landscape, and studying them offers a fascinating insight into the country’s rich and diverse past. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the Indian states in the pre-independence era, their history, and their impact on modern-day India.

NamePresent-day location
Ajmer – MerwaraRajasthan
Andaman & Nicobar IslandsAndaman and Nicobar Islands
AssamAssam and parts of Bangladesh
BengalWest Bengal and Bangladesh
BombayParts of Maharashtra and Karnataka
Central Provinces & BerarMadhya Pradesh
DelhiNational Capital Territory of Delhi
MadrasParts of Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, and Karnataka
North-West FrontierPakistan
Panth-PiplodaMadhya Pradesh
PunjabDivided between India and Pakistan
United ProvincesUttar Pradesh

Princely States

India’s independence from British rule in 1947 marked the beginning of a new era for the Indian subcontinent. One of the most significant challenges for the newly formed Indian government was to integrate the numerous princely states that existed in the region into the Indian Union. These princely states were essentially autonomous territories that were ruled by local rulers, known as Maharajas, Rajas, or Nawabs, under the guidance of the British. The majority of these princely states, numbering around 584, were located within the geographical boundaries of India.

After India’s independence, the question of what would happen to these princely states became a critical issue. The Indian government sought to persuade these states to accede to the Indian Union, while some of them were considering either joining Pakistan or maintaining their independence. The process of integrating these princely states into the Indian Union was complex and involved careful negotiations with their rulers. Some states, like Hyderabad, Junagadh, and Jammu and Kashmir, initially refused to join the Indian Union, leading to conflicts and tensions.

However, by the end of 1949, all of the princely states, except for Hyderabad, had acceded to India. Hyderabad finally joined the Indian Union in 1948 after the Indian army intervened.

Sikkim, which was one of the smallest princely states, located in the Himalayan region, remained independent until 1975, when it finally joined the Indian Union as the 22nd state. Its accession marked the end of the princely state era in India. The integration of these princely states into the Indian Union was a significant achievement for the newly formed Indian government. It not only helped to consolidate the country’s territorial boundaries but also paved the way for the creation of a democratic and secular India. Today, India is a thriving democracy with a diverse cultural landscape, thanks in part to the integration of these princely states.

List of Indian States at the Time of Independence

India’s journey towards independence on August 15, 1947, was not an easy one. At that time, India consisted of 12 states, including Assam, Bengal, Bihar, Bombay, Central India, the Central Provinces, Madras, Mysore, Orissa, Punjab, Rajputana, and the United Provinces. Each of these states had its own unique history, culture, and languages.

The post-independence period was a time of growth and expansion for India. By the time India became a sovereign democratic republic on January 26, 1950, five more states, namely Hyderabad, Jammu & Kashmir, Sikkim, Manipur, and Tripura, had joined the Indian Union. These states brought their unique identities and cultural heritage to the Indian tapestry.

The accession of these states was not without challenges. For example, the accession of Jammu & Kashmir was a highly contested issue and remains a point of contention to this day. However, the Indian government was able to navigate these challenges and successfully integrate these states into the Indian Union.

The addition of these states not only expanded the geographic reach of India but also brought a diversity of cultures, traditions, and languages. Today, India is a mosaic of different states, each with its own identity and history, but united under the banner of democracy and shared values.

List of States in Present-Day India

India, the seventh-largest country by land area and the second-most populous country in the world is a federal union comprising 28 states and eight union territories. Each state in India boasts its own unique culture, history, and geography, making it a land of diverse experiences. From the snow-capped mountains of the northernmost state of Jammu and Kashmir to the tropical beaches of Goa and the backwaters of Kerala in the south, each state has something unique to offer. In this article, we will take a closer look at the list of states in present-day India and the individual characteristics that make them special.

The newest addition to this union is the state of Telangana, which achieved statehood on June 2, 2014, after a long and arduous struggle for separation from Andhra Pradesh. Telangana, located in the southern part of India, is known for its rich history, culture, and cuisine. Its capital city, Hyderabad, is a melting pot of cultures and a hub for the country’s IT industry.

On the other hand, the newest union territories in India are Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, formed on January 26, 2020, by merging the previously separate territories. Located in the western part of India, this union territory is known for its serene beaches, lush green forests, and rich Portuguese heritage. Together, these new additions to India’s statehood and union territory bring a fresh perspective to the country’s already rich cultural tapestry.

List of 28 States in India

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Arunachal Pradesh
  3. Assam
  4. Bihar
  5. Chhattisgarh
  6. Goa
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Jharkhand
  11. Karnataka
  12. Kerala
  13. Madhya Pradesh
  14. Maharashtra
  15. Manipur
  16. Meghalaya
  17. Mizoram
  18. Nagaland
  19. Odisha
  20. Punjab
  21. Rajasthan
  22. Sikkim
  23. Tamil Nadu
  24. Telangana
  25. Tripura
  26. Uttar Pradesh
  27. Uttarakhand
  28. West Bengal

List of Eight Union Territories in India

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  4. Delhi
  5. Jammu and Kashmir
  6. Ladakh
  7. Lakshadweep
  8. Puducherry

Also Read: Top 20 Best Places To Visit Northeast India In 2023

Leave a Reply