List Of ODI Cricket World Cup Winners (1975-2023)

List Of ODI Cricket World Cup Winners (1975-2023)

The Cricket World Cup has been a highly anticipated event in the world of sports since its inception in 1975. Initially played in England as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side, the tournament has since expanded globally. The first time the World Cup was held outside of England was in 1987, and this marked a significant change in the game as the number of overs per side was reduced to 50.

ODI World Cup Winner

Over the years, the tournament has seen some phenomenal performances from various teams. Australia has been the most successful team, winning the World Cup five times, including three consecutive titles from 1999 to 2007. India and the West Indies have won the World Cup twice each, while England won their maiden World Cup in 2019. The list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners is a testament to the incredible talent and determination of these teams, and it will continue to inspire generations of cricket enthusiasts around the world.

List of ODI Cricket World Cup winners

1975EnglandWest Indies291/8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286/9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253/5England246/8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249/6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245/3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133/2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359/2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281/4Sri Lanka215/8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277/4Sri Lanka274/6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186/3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241/8Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

The role of a captain in cricket cannot be overstated, as they are responsible for leading their team to victory in one of the most prestigious tournaments in the world of sports: the ICC World Cup. Since the inception of the tournament in 1975, there have been some legendary captains who have led their teams to victory on the biggest stage of all. From Clive Lloyd leading the West Indies to their first World Cup win in 1975, to Eoin Morgan steering England to their first-ever World Cup triumph in 2019, each captain has brought their own unique style of leadership to the game.

The list of ICC World Cup-winning captains is a testament to the importance of leadership in cricket. Australia’s captain Steve Waugh played a crucial role in leading his team to victory in 1999, and Ricky Ponting did the same in 2003 and 2007. Imran Khan, the legendary Pakistan captain, inspired his team to an improbable victory in 1992. The list goes on, and it includes some of the greatest cricketing legends of all time.

2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1992PakistanImran Khan
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd

Also read- List Of Top 10 Longest Rivers In The World

Leave a Reply